MINING AND ENERGY UNION **SOUTH WESTERN DISTRICT**

NOTICE TO MEMBERS

In accordance with the Rules of the Organisation, an election will be held for the following positions:

DISTRICT PRESIDENT DISTRICT SECRETARY DISTRICT VICE-PRESIDENT (A) (Lithgow) DISTRICT VICE-PRESIDENT (B) (Mudgee) CENTRAL COUNCILLOR (1)

(These positions will be nominated from and voted on by the total membership of the District)

DISTRICT CHECK INSPECTOR - WESTERN - nominated from the Western Region DISTRICT CHECK INSPECTOR – SOUTHERN - nominated from the Southern Region **DISTRICT RELIEF CHECK INSPECTOR - WESTERN - nominated from the Western Region DISTRICT RELIEF CHECK INSPECTOR - SOUTHERN - nominated from the Southern Region** (These positions will be voted on by the total membership of the District)

HONORARY DISTRICT VICE PRESIDENT – FAR WEST REGION

(This position will be nominated from metalliferous mining members in the County of Yancowinna and voted on by the Far West Region only)

BOARD OF MANAGEMENT (8 positions) – nominated from and voted on by the following Lodges:

SOUTHERN REGION (4 positions):

AREA 1 (2 positions) - Dendrobium Mine or Appin Mine

AREA 2 (1 position) -Tahmoor Mine, Tahmoor CHPP, Helensburgh Mine or Helensburgh CHPP AREA 3 (1 position) - PKCT, Dendrobium Washery, Russell Vale Mine, Wongawilli Mine, Coal Samplers, Southern Mines Rescue Station, Illawarra CSPL or contractor/labour hire employees within the Southern mining region.

WESTERN REGION (4 positions):

AREA 1 (1 position) - Ulan Underground Mine, Moolarben U/G or Moolarben CHPP

AREA 2 (1 position) - Western Region Open Cut Mines, USO and CHPP or contractor/labour hire employees within the Western mining region

AREA 3 (1 position) - Springvale or Airly Mine

AREA 4 (1 position) - Clarence Mine or Western Mines Rescue Station

Nominations must be in writing and comply with the registered rules of the Organisation. Nominations will be accepted at any time from 15 April 2024 and must reach my office, postal or email address not later than 11:00am (Eastern Standard Time) on 6 May 2024.

If a ballot is necessary, voting material will be posted to Local Returning Officers and where applicable directly to members who are receiving a postal vote, from 20 May 2024. Members should notify the Organisation of any changes of address. The ballot will close at 5:00pm (Eastern Standard Time) on 11 June 2024.

Nomination forms are available from the National Office, District Branch Offices, or Lodges of the Organisation. A copy of the Union rules can be found at www.meu.org.au.

ADDRESS FOR LODGEMENT OF NOMINATIONS

nationalreturningofficer@meu.org.au

BY POST BY HAND BY EMAIL

The National Returning Officer The National Returning Officer GPO Box 477 Mining and Energy Union Level 11, 215-217 Clarence St Sydney NSW 2001

SYDNEY NSW 2000

Lorraine Usher, National Returning Officer, 27 March 2024, Telephone No: (02) 9267 1035